Hello I'm new

dsrjrr
on 1/2/06 9:06 am - appomattox, va
Hello Guys I've been researching the lapband for about 6 months and now ready to begin!!Has anyone had this done how painful is it??Second I know my insurance wont cover it even though my bmi is 41.3 and 100pds overweight so I'm going to try to self-pay what is the average cost for the lapband in Va????Thanks
(deactivated member)
on 1/2/06 9:34 am - I Do Believe .. I Do I Do .., VA
Tina . Welcome to the VA Board ! And the best to you on your resesrch ! I have several in my support group that are Lap Band patients . One was even a self pay . I believe she told me it was @ 17,000 $ . There are many forums here for each different type of surgery . If you go to the tool bar - and look in for Lap Band .. there is a forum there for that . Best of Luck to you .. and again Welcome ! Natalie http://groups.myspace.com/LIFESTARTSWLS
Betsy Anitahug
on 1/2/06 10:00 am - Danville, VA
Welcome, Tina...you have found the most wonderful and caring board there is. I didn't have lapband but the complete gastric bypass about 2 weeks ago. I had to have open and am doing really well. I dont' know much about the lapband but I am sure there are alot here with all the information you will need. Good luck and welcome.. hugs, BEtsy
A10sFrau
on 1/2/06 10:26 am - Rockbridge Co., VA
Hi Tina, Welcome. Ditto what Betsy said. My insurance will not pay for lap-band, but does pay for RNY, thank goodness. Glad to meet you, Tina.
Shanana
on 1/2/06 7:46 pm - Altavista, VA
Hello Tina and welcome. I had RNY so I am not sure about lap band. I am right down the road from you. There is a support group tonite @ 7 pm in the Wyndhurst YMCA if you are interested. Some had lapband some RNY. You could get some info. There is another one in same place 2nd Saturday of the month. I can email you the info. Shannon
yvette223
on 1/2/06 8:31 pm - winchester, VA
RNY on 01/24/06 with