New Here

DMBMama
on 1/24/11 12:11 am
 Hello everyone! 
My name is Christina and I"m from Northern VA. I am just beginning my journey and am hoping to have WLS in the near future. It's great to "meet" all of you and I look forward to hearing more about your experiences and sharing mine. 
callinwildfire
on 1/24/11 3:35 am - Levels, WV
Welcome Christina,What type of surgery are you interested in? Where are you in your process of beginning WLS? Things are kind of slow here on the board, so don't feel left out if you don't get a lot of responces.Pam
DMBMama
on 1/24/11 4:12 am
I'm at the VERY beginning. :) I met with my PCP and he said that he'd support me in my decision and work with me. I contacted a surgeon in my area and found out that I had to attend their 2 hour information seminar before getting an appointment with them. I've also contacted my insurance to get all of the information I need as far as requirements. So, I have an appointment set up (in a week) to see a Nutritionist regarding my 6 month physician supervised diet plan and I have filled out the multiple page health questionnaire required by the surgeon. So at this point it's "hurry up and wait" while I wait for the surgeon to review my medical questionnaire and then will have a 1 on 1 appointment with him. I'm looking at having the RNY. I've done a lot of research and now I'm interested in hearing "real life" experiences people have had and are having rather than the "text book explanations" you read on medical websites, etc. :)

Thank you for the welcome Pam! :)

caroline2622
on 1/24/11 8:48 am - Woodbridge , VA
VSG on 09/30/08 with
Welcome Pam     Well all types of WLS is just tool

Find a surgeon and their team that you feel comfortable.  Most good bariatric surgeons require a meet and great session before coming to meet one on one.   Generally also there is a processing fee (for that meet and greet & medical review questionare?? )...