New to Newport News, VA

jillian_amari
on 1/21/11 4:39 am - Revere, MA
Hey Ya'll. I am looking for support groups near Newport News, VA. My husband is in the Air Force and we just moved here from Boston, MA. I have yet to really get out since I have been here so I would love some recommended support groups so I can meet some new people. Also I would be interested in a gym partner if there is someone out there who wants to go with me. Any suggestions would be great being new to an area where you don't know anyone kind of sux and it's my first time away from home. It is sooo awkward to me to meet new people.

Thanks for listening.

Jillian
SleeveRockn Chic
on 1/21/11 1:11 pm, edited 1/21/11 1:13 pm
Hi Jillian, Welcome to VA. I'm not sure of any support groups where you are but I am sure there is since there is a surgeons office in Newport News I was going to go to a long time ago. It's the Weight Loss Surgery center of Hampton Roads and there phone number is (757) 947-3170. You could give them a call and find out about a support group. I myself have not had surgery but I have a so called date of the first Monday in March could change sooner depending. I am in VB which is about 30-60 min. from you depending on traffic because that tunnel traffic can be a real pain lol. I attend a support group here on the second thursday of every month. I also have a membership to the YMCA which I don't use like I should but hopefully after surgery I will live there lol. Take care,Kerry
jillian_amari
on 1/22/11 12:26 am - Revere, MA
Thanks for the info Kerry. I will def call and check that out. Congrats on your upcoming surgery. It is the most life changing experience. There are def ups and downs but in the end it is sooo worth it. I have a friend that lives in chesepeake and I drive through VB to get there so its not too far, that tunnel traffic can be a ***** though. The support group you attend on the second thursday is that through the weight loss center of Hampton Roads too?

:)