Dealing with Restaurants

Ann S.
on 8/28/09 3:10 pm - Middletown, VA
Lap Band on 07/16/07 with
I meant to post this last week, but forgot.  Sorry.

Our newbies have been wondering how to deal with restaurants (thanks Brenda for bringing it up last week).  Being a restaurant junkie, I've got lots of experience in this area.

First, OH has designed a card (more like a huge freaking placcard!) that you can print out & present at restaurants, that indicates you have had wls & will need to order off the children's menu. It has a place for your name, your surgeon's name & number should the restaurant want to check up on your claim (but none have ever done so to me or anyone I know).  I have a wallet-sized replica of the thing so if you would like it, just PM me with your regular email & I will send it to you as an attachment.  It's a word doc, & I have it designed to where you can type in the missing info.  I suggest picking up a laminating sheet from Walmart (I just got one for mine) cuz it will fray after awhile.

I realize that some of you are still not comfortable letting the world know you had wls, but there are no banners or brass bands or over-the-loud-speaker announcements at restaurants telling everyone your business.  It is a discreet way for YOU to inform the restaurant of your special dietary needs.  I was pleasantly surprised when I presented my card at my favorite buffet nearby...they don't advertise it, but they give a child's rate for wls patients!  We ate there tonight...son's cost $14.95 but mine only cost $6.98!  And it was SEAFOOD NIGHT!!