Im a newbie and have some questions...

Navytown Mom
on 7/10/09 3:39 am
I am just waiting on the approval from my insurance and then they will send me to the last seminar and schedule the date and do the final blood work. I have been trying to read as much as possible about the procedure and before/after stories. The first seminar that I attended went over the basic procedures and different types of operations but I have so many questions.

Does everyone start the liquid diet before the surgery? 

How is the liquid diet, what do you have ect? 

My surgeon told me that with the gastric bypass they cut out part of the stomach, however one website i saw just said they stapled part of it. Has anyone heard of them actually cutting it? 

meantine
on 7/10/09 5:54 am
The most important question I believe  you have I will answer first and that is NO they do not cut out part of the stomach.  They did that at one time but now they do not.  Now you do need to ask your doctor about that face to face.  I joke around and say I have two stomachs.  If you have anymore questions about that PLEASE Just ask.
Second, I don't know anyone who didn't have the liquid diet before and after the surgery.  I had beef, chicken and vegetable broth all the time.  Plus Jello, Pudding, and protien shakes.  Some doctor have a very set liquid diet and others just say liquid diet and protein shakes.  It all should be in the reading stuff they gave you.  I had to go through 6 months of classes before my surgery and I learned so much.  I went through the Navy Hospital in Portsmouth Va and they did a wonderful job.  
Please feel free to ask me any questions and PLEASE TALK TALK TALK with your doctor because others can give you 50 million different answers. 
 Good luck,
 Christine
caroline2622
on 7/11/09 3:37 am - Woodbridge , VA
VSG on 09/30/08 with
The Gastric Bypass is not a removal but a re routing.    The Vertical Sleeve Gasterectomy is a removal of part of the stomach.