Looking for Gen Prac and Support

CeiliKid
on 10/9/06 10:53 pm
Hello all, I'm new to obesity help and I have decided to take this huge step and begin the process towards gastric bypass. I have to do this not only for myself (I'm feeling awful) but also for my family. I have a child that needs more than I can give him right now. I'm new to the Midlothian area and I'm in need of a general practitioner. My insurance (Aetna) requires that I do the 6 month doctor supervised diet thing. Can anyone suggest a good doctor who is sympathetic to the surgery? I am looking for someone close to the Hull St. area. I feel like I am at the starting line staring at a huge road ahead of me. I guess I just need to take it one step at a time. I'm pretty sure I want to go through St. Mary's Hospital, who else has had their surgery there and what doctor did you have? I'm feeling pretty apprehensive about all the hoops I'm going to have to jump through. At this stage I'm not scared about the surgery, just about all the paperwork, appointments, and this 6 month waiting period. I'd like to try and get seen by a gen prac this month if at all possible so any help you can give me soon would be greatly appreciated. Thank you Amanda
DebraLockhart
on 10/10/06 1:18 am - Chester, VA
Amanda, I live in Chester, so don't know any GP's in Midlothian. I just wanted to tell you that I too had to do the 6 month medically supervised diet thing for Cigna. I am scheduled for lap RNY on Oct. 18. at MCV with Dr. Kellum. My insurance approval came in 3 days after submitted. I had everything together. I knew what was required and gave it to them. I chose MCV because of a bad experience at St. Mary's over 30 years ago (stillborn child). I did a lot of research and found MCV to have a very comprehensive program. Good luck to you. Don't give up. Just keep looking at the horizon and give them what they want. There are a lot of hoops to jump through to qualify for this procedure. Just hang in there. Debra
CeiliKid