I'm sitting here crying

*~Tigger~ *
on 6/14/06 11:00 am - Staunton, VA
As many of you know, I ws injured at work about a year and a half ago. I have had 2 major surgeries on my cervical spine as a result of the fall. The doctor doesn't know if I will be able to return to work or not in the Fall. School admin wants to meet with me; they want me to say that I'll be there on the first day of school and for the entire year or else they want to hire someone for my position. (I have taught in the system for 18 years.) I had a lawyer friend write to them that he will be attending the meeting with me. He told me a while ago that the city attorney left him a message that it is a closed meeting and that he won't be allowed to attend with me. WTF? I feel totally betrayed and that I am losing my career. I don't know what to do. Thank you, my friends, for listening. JoAnn
A10sFrau
on 6/14/06 11:06 am - Rockbridge Co., VA
Hmm, I don't understand how that is legal. Guess that's why I am not a lawyer. It would seem a person has a right to a representative. Is your lawyer well versed in school law? Prayers going your way. Lois
Shanana
on 6/14/06 11:13 am - Altavista, VA
Oh no Buddy!! You will be OK. Sue the **** out of them. Shannon
Christine Hood
on 6/14/06 11:29 am - Fort Eustis, VA
Wow JoAnn, that is terrible!! First of all, if you have a case pending against them (even workman's comp), I don't believe that it is legal for them to meet with you without your lawyer being permitted in...(I would call the WC board and get clarification). You should just tell them that you'll be there in the fall. If something changes during the summer, they will have to deal with it. I would also think that if they ask you to sign anything you can probably refuse to sign anything without your lawyer looking it over. Be sure to make notes of these types of issues because if you have to take this further, documentation will be the key. Good luck Girl! Christine
A10sFrau