tenncare

emerging_butterfly
on 4/28/04 12:22 pm - Columbia, SC
Hey all! New to the group. I was wondering if any of you have had experience with TennCare and WLS. I am currently in the process of applying for TennCare specifically for the surgery. I kow it will be tough with all of the government cuts, but this is the only way I can afford it. I cannot get private insurance because of my weight. Any help is appreciated. Susan
Eva O.
on 4/28/04 2:04 pm - Thompson Station, TN
Hi Susan, i am new here too,but i do have tenncare select and i am just getting started with my journey.I am going to my first seminar May 6 in Dickson Tenn.and i will find out all the info. i hope then.I have been on tenncare for about 9 years now so i don't know how difficult it is to get it now. But good luck to you and your journey. God bless Eva Ortiz
Sabby
on 4/28/04 2:56 pm - Knoxville, TN
I have PHP Tenncare. I also got it specifically to get the surgery - of course, two weeks later I found out I was pregnant. I now have a gorgeous little boy I got approval in a week and a half for a Lap RNY with Dr. Boyce in Knoxville. PHP is pretty good with approvals, I think. That's what I've heard, and that's what my experience is anyway.
tinyTNgirl
on 4/28/04 10:06 pm - TN
Hiya Susan and welcome to the group!!! Glad to have ya! I work in a 5 physician family practice and we have patients with Tenncare Select that have successfully had RNY. I attended my seminar two days ago and what they said there was that some surgeons do not accept it because it reimburses them so little. However, the hospitals do accept it, and the surgeons that do not give reduced rates and payment options for those patients. I dont think you'll have any trouble provided that you meet their criteria. Best of luck to you dear Susan and welcome again! Melanie
debradenby
on 4/29/04 1:12 am - Baxter, TN