new to tennessee board...info on tenncare would be great

katarina49721
on 5/18/10 9:50 pm - Port Angeles, WA
hello all, my name is joyce... i am new to tenn and just wanted to stop in and say hi.  i am a 36 yr old mom of 4 and have been researching gastric bypass for about 5 yrs now.  i was living in nc for awhile and was 1 appt from getting my surgury and i dropped 30 lbs in a month and the doc told me that i could do it on my own.  little did he know though that i had a swollen lymphnode that had some sort of a "fungus" (i know YUCK) in it which is what was causing me to lose the weight.  anyhow here i am back to being big bulky and feeling completely unattractive and unlovable.  my kids and my husband tell me that i am pretty and such but i feel so BLAH all the time.  so here i am trying to find out who i can go to in the greater chattanooga/cleveland area for gastric bypass and who will take the local medicaid (tenncare?)... i dont have it yet but am hoping to be able to get it soon. and what is the criteria, the requirements here for someone with that insurance? any excessive amount of charting your weight or going through a family doc with pills and weight loss programs before they will start talking to you?  if anyone can give me a heads up on what i will be getting myself into it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Joyce Harrod
Cleveland, TN 
CharleeG
on 5/23/10 2:50 am - Jonesboro, AR
I have no answers for you about Tenncare but wanted to say hello and welcome to the board. I'm a former Memphian, so feel qualified. LOL I had the DS in Nashville with Dr. Hugh Houston on 4/6/10 and LOVE it, love Dr. H and his staff!

Are you looking into RnY bypass or Duodenal Switch? Please research both intensively before choosing one. I was unaware of the DS until I read about it on the main board.

Welcome again and good luck in your research.

katarina49721
on 5/23/10 8:55 am - Port Angeles, WA