Post Op diet

Robin B.
on 11/15/03 8:03 am - Wilmington, NC
Hey everybody, I'm scheduled for my surgery next Friday. I was just wondering what kinds of diets you had post-op? Do you try to reach a certain amount of protein each day? How long were you on the liquid phase of the diet? Thanks for any help! Robin Wilmington, NC
Pat S.
on 11/15/03 8:31 am - Lenoir, NC
Robin, I am pre-op so I am not an expert on the post-op diet, but I did want to offer my congratulations to you! Next Friday! I am sooooo jealous! I'll say a prayer for you and hope for an uneventful surgery and a speedy recovery! Way to go, girl! Pat
Dakotaoh
on 4/25/06 12:12 am - Ft. Mitchell, KY
If you haven't already taken a pic of your surgeon and he has a website with his pic on it, you can save it and use it. That's how I got the pic of my surgeon. Its a professional pic so it is much better then I could have done with my limited ability of taking pics! Cathy
Vickie E.
on 11/15/03 10:46 am - Sanford, NC
It is up to your surgeon of course. But I am on three weeks of full liquid diet, then three weeks of pureed diet, after that soft foods and gradually adding back regular food a little at a time. I stick to this because my surgeon told me I could disrupt my staple line if I tried to put full regular food in my new pouch too soon.
jean E.
on 11/16/03 1:11 am - supply, nc
HI Robin, I am post op 8 days...I have been making sure to get at least 16 oz of protien drink per day. I also can eat cottage cheese if I ma**** really good. Another source I use is baby food cereal, as I hate oatmeal or cream of wheat or grits. I add a little baby food fruit to it, to give it a little more flavor. I have had no trouble keeping it down. I use the 100% whey protien powder by GNC. I love it. Sometimes I add a little to my coffee, sometimes I heat it up and add some ff sf cool whip. No after taste with it. hope this helps, good luck with your surgery. You wont be sorry you did it.. jeannie from holden beach
Sharon S.