SALAD difficulty...anyone?

Pokemom
on 1/19/17 12:18 pm
RNY on 12/29/14

I think that before WLS, I was a green-eating machine!  I ate spinach or kale smoothies.  I would have arugula almost every morning instead of toast with an egg.  We ate lots of salads in our house.

My doctor did not allow them for a few months, and warned they would be hard to digest.

I don't eat them as much now--at least not lettuce salads--because they take up too much space in my pouch. Also, as far as veggies go, lettuce is not as dense as other veggies.  I miss having a lot of fresh greens.

I too crave the flavor of the dressings.  I am a good cook, and I used to make lots of homemade vinaigrettes.  Here is what I do (at 2 years out):

If I go out for lunch, I will often order a salad with meat on it.  I focus on the meat, but eat a little of the lettuce and other salad items too.

At home, we do make salads--I just take little servings.  I make sure they really count.  I choose dark or dense greens (as if greens can be dense), or a vegetable.  I generally avoid iceberg or Romaine.  Instead:  cabbage, spinach, kale, broccoli, chopped steamed green beans.  I include some good protein in the meal.  In the salad, maybe nuts and edamame.  And, a high-quality vinaigrette.

Good luck!  Drink a little vinegar and oil and see if that helps!  :-)

Daisydoo02
on 1/19/17 12:32 pm - GTA, Ontario, Canada
RNY on 11/15/13