Traveling

Whoogirl
on 2/29/16 7:37 pm
RNY on 02/02/16

Hello, I am fairly new to this but looking for sage advice from people who may have been thru this or recommendations. How soon after surgery did you travel on vacation? Was it out of the country or just in the US? Did you have any complications or any struggles while traveling?

Thanks for your input.

G2GAWAY
on 2/29/16 10:47 pm
RNY on 05/16/15

I travel a lot (small trips, big trips)...hence my User name of G2GAWAY (got to go away).  When I looked at my calendar to schedule the surgery, there was never going to be a perfect time, so I just found the earliest possible surgery date and did it last May. I had a weekend trip to Santa Barbara scheduled the week before my surgery when I was on liquids, with one meal a day.  I packed all of my protein mix, shaker bottles, and ate the one meal I was allowed (Wendy's chili or a low cal TV dinner-there were a couple of other choices, but this is what I opted for).  3 weeks after my surgery, my daughter graduated from college, back out of town, celebration dinners, family, and a move to Northern Cal for her.  Again, I packed my supplies and stuck with the plan.  I have been out of the country (recently in Thailand for 2 weeks).  That was not my kind of food, but also made it work.  I also went to Loreto, Mexico to an all inclusive resort for a week in November and just had them make special things for me.  It was all buffets and I didn't want it, so they would prepare a nice piece of fish or steak for me.