Adolescent wls

aesposito
on 6/23/15 6:34 am

If Medicaid would pay for it, and if she qualifies medically for it... then I guess it would depend on the 16 year old.  It is very easy to eat around the surgery and ruin the tool after the initial weight loss... so if she did not have the maturity to take charge of her own health, I would say no.  But if she was a mature 16 year old, then maybe yes.

Audrey

Highest weight: 340
Surgery weight: 313
Surgery date: 10/24/11
Current weight 170... 170 pounds lost!!!!

I am not a doctor, but I play one at work.

lynnc99
on 6/23/15 6:52 am

As you see, there's no easy answer. You sound like the parent here - so here are some steps. There is a lot of research involved even in the best case scenario.

First - Talk with her primary care doc about investigating the option. See if s/he will even recommend it for a 16 yr old. This is the gateway to all things WLS. 

Contact the administrator for the insurance and see if there is coverage. It seems that no 2 plans are alike. 

Be aware that psychological counseling and documented medically supervised weight loss programs are prerequisites for most insurances and most high quality bariatric programs. In addition, most bariatric surgeons require a regimented pre-op diet (sometimes full liquid) with a minimum pre op weight loss in order to proceed with surgery. 

And also be aware that there can be a boat load of other pre op requirements...pulmonary, cardiac, sleep study, and on and on. Plus the "normal" things like blood work, etc. 

You might also consider exploring coverage for psychological counseling with someone who specializes in eating disorders or addiction. Whether surgery becomes an option or not, this may be helpful.