Did you choose RNY over the gastric sleeve? Why?

catwoman7
on 6/10/15 9:36 am
RNY on 06/03/15

I've been hanging out on this site for a couple of years but just had my surgery a week ago (RNY).   I was fine with either surgery (and so was my surgeon), but in the end I chose RNY because I already have mild GERD, and I did *not* want to risk it getting any worse.   The chance of nutrient deficiency is a big concern for me, so I've spent a lot of time here and on other sites researching vitamin brands that people find effective.  I know in spite of my best efforts I may have some deficiencies down the road *anyway*, but I'm doing everything under my control to try to prevent that.

RNY 06/03/15 by Michael Garren (Madison, WI)

HW: 373 SW: 316 GW: 150 LW: 138 CW: 163

catwoman7
on 6/10/15 9:40 am
RNY on 06/03/15

P.S.   I should have said "supplements" rather than "vitamins" as I've also spent a lot of time researching protein, calcium citrate, etc

RNY 06/03/15 by Michael Garren (Madison, WI)

HW: 373 SW: 316 GW: 150 LW: 138 CW: 163

Sarah M.
on 6/10/15 10:11 am

I had the choice between sleeve and RNY and I chose RNY. I have high blood pressure and had post partum cardiomyopathy. I was still on a lot of medication for the chf. My surgeon said either one would work but that I would find more positive medical outcomes quicker with RNY. He was right. I am a little less than 2 months out and I am already off several medications and lower doses on the rest.

Personally I also told the surgeon I wanted an option that was not easy to cheat on and he said that given my medical history and what I know about myself-he would definitely recommend RNY.

The only thing I regret about my decision is waiting so long to do it.

CerealKiller Kat71
on 6/10/15 11:14 am
RNY on 12/31/13