Irregular heart beat while exercising

Semaenlightened
on 5/15/15 7:32 pm
RNY on 03/25/15

I know I need to talk to my Dr. about this and I will, but was just interested if anyone else has experienced this.  I am 7 weeks out.  Exercise daily, get all my protein and all my fluids.  Lately when I am swimming laps or on the elliptical when I stop to check my hear rate it seems to be irregular.  It will beat 3 times normal then skip, then stutter then back to normal.  My blood pressure is fine and my resting heart rate is around 64 which is great.  It seems to only happen when I am exercising..other than the few times where it has like my heart "flips" in my chest.  I have never had heart issues, and I was take off my blood pressure med before leaving the hospital after surgery.

Thanks

(deactivated member)
on 5/15/15 8:52 pm
RNY on 05/04/15

Definitely see your doctor, but the most likely suspects are pretty benign. I AM NOT A DOCTOR and this is not medical advice, but that sounds similar to how premature ventricular contractions or premature atrial contractions tend to feel. They're pretty harmless on their own but can be more dangerous if they start to occur in multiples. Seeing a cardiologist (and likely doing a 24-48 hour Holter monitor) is the only way to know for sure.

I had frequent PVCs diagnosed with a 30-day event monitor a few years ago. I was 2 weeks away from my wedding, had just gone back to working nights, and was drinking a LOT of caffeine -- magically, when the wedding stress was over, they went away on their own, lol.

Semaenlightened
on 5/15/15 9:04 pm
RNY on 03/25/15

Thanks!

Jessca
on 5/15/15 11:23 pm
RNY on 04/20/15