diagnosed with breast cancer this past monday

SkinnyScientist
on 4/4/15 7:35 am

If absorption is an issue for you, or you are worried about it, TELL YOUR ONCOLOGIST and get your chemo administered via: 1)  i.v. infusion (I.e into a vein...kind of like they do with the saline in hospital), 2) push (via a port that was surgically installed ..usually right about your left breast. A nurse will flu**** each time and then use a big long needle to inject the chemo) or continuous infulsion (wiht a pump that is also surgically installed in you).

Good luck

RNY Surgery: 12/31/2013; 

Current weight (2/27/2015) 139lbs, ~14% body fat

Three pounds below Goal!!! Yay !  

SkinnyScientist
on 4/4/15 7:42 am

P.S. I am not an Onc doctor or nurse...but I did research studies with patients on how they metabolize chemotherapy when getting samples from my own patients.  I know these administration mechanisms are available.

However, when I was getting out of research, there was a big push for taking your chemo at home and having a quality of life.  Literally, for some forms of chemo, by the time you drive there, get it administered, and drive home, one's day is shot.

But if oral absorption were an issue, I would go for one of three routes I mentioned above.

If I woke up with cancer today, as a human to a human (not medical advice), I would get one of the three adminstration mechanisms above. Chemotherapies have a narrow therapeutic index.  The efficious dose (i.e. the amount that kills cancer) and the toxic dose are close.  Worse, if you arent orally absorbing all of the administered dose, it would be akin to underdosing you.

But this is my two cents. You are the one that has to fight AND STILL live your life and be there for your family.  Only you can make the call.

I will support you either way.

You are in my thoughts and prayers.

And I think you got a really ****ty deal.

lekoleko
on 4/4/15 8:09 am
Thank u skinny scientist will def refer back to ur advice
Eggface