Calcium Citrate Ideas please

breck_fish13
on 3/18/15 11:36 pm
RNY on 11/04/14

I had my 3 month Doctor visit last month and ask her if I should take more and she said no. I told her that I keep reading on here about 1500mg but she said no. I have my first blood work done in May so I think I will up my dose. Thank You

poet_kelly
on 3/19/15 3:46 am - OH

Your blood work won't show if you're getting enough calcium because if you aren't taking enough, you'll just leach it out of your bones to keep the level in your blood good.  You won't know until you get a bone density scan and see if you've had bone loss.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

poet_kelly
on 3/19/15 3:47 am - OH

You might want to ask her why she thinks you only need 1000 mg when the ASMBS says 1500 to 2000 mg.  It's not just that people on OH say you need more.  The ASMBS says you need more.

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 3/19/15 9:17 am - OH

Ditto what Kelly said.. I would politely ask her why she disagrees with the ASMBS recommendations. I would also "innocently" inquire about whether or not she will also have your PTH level tested.  THAT will tell you, in combination with your calcium and Vit D levels, whether your body is leeching calcium from your bones (but, sadly, MANY doctors don't know this!)

Lora

14 years out; 190 pounds lost, 165 pound loss maintained