veterans....What was your re-bound weight gain?

poet_kelly
on 2/24/12 2:52 am - OH
I think it's really different for everyone.

I ended up almost 20 pounds below goal and maintained that until I was nearly three years out.  Then I started taking some medication that is known to cause weight gain, and I gained about 23 pounds.  I'm not on the medication any longer and I've lost six pounds so far.  I don't really mind if I don't lose all that I gained back since I was below my goal weight anyway, but I sure didn't like seeing the scale go up and I'd feel good if I lost a few more pounds.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Laura in Texas
on 2/24/12 4:26 am
My goal weight since I was 20 has always been 140. It was a weight I was comfortable with back then so I chose it again when I had weight loss surgery at the age of 42 (my highest weight was 339). I got down to 132 and upped my calories to get back to 140. I have maintained at 140 for over 2 years now. So I'm not sure if I "bounced" or gained because I purposely ate more. I will say I'm a daily weigher and if I'm up 3 pounds I cut back to lose them. +3 is my limit.

Laura

Laura in Texas

53 years old; 5'7" tall; HW: 339 (BMI=53); GW: 140 CW: 170 (BMI=27)

RNY: 09-17-08 Dr. Garth Davis

brachioplasty: 12-18-09 Dr. Wainwright; lbl/bl: 06-28-11 Dr. LoMonaco

"May your choices reflect your hopes and not your fears."

Carol S.
on 2/25/12 2:25 am - Milwaukee, WI
 At 5 years out I was 235 (lowest was 152) from 285.  Today I weigh 155-157lbs.  I dealt with alcholism in there though.  I've been sober for awhile now and the regain is gone.  I had to deal with my baggage before the weight could come off again.
Carol