Journey Calcium?

tlhopeful
on 11/1/11 1:41 am - NC
Has anyone tried Journey calcium pills? I'm looking for a replacement for the chewables I have. I don't like candy type stuff. Of course, the chalky tablets stuff is gross. Please let me know if you've tried the Journey ones and seen the benefits. Thanks.
My Youtube channel: www.youtube.com/user/tlhopeful

poet_kelly
on 11/1/11 3:12 am - OH
What type of calcium is in it?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

poet_kelly
on 11/1/11 4:22 am - OH
OK, I thought I knew some stuff about this brand and I double checked.  Here's what I know.

The manufacturer of these calcium supplements states the type of calcium they use (Dimacal) is absorbed better than calcium citrate but apparently has been unable or unwilling to provide any studies that actually prove that.  I get suspicious whenever companies make big claims like that but can't or won't back it up.

The manufacturer also offers a multivitamin and makes all kinds of claims about what their multi will do for you that they cannot back up.  For instance, they say that they use a special type of iron and calcium in the multi that prevents the iron from blocking the absorption of the calcium.  Well, iron never blocks the absorption of calcium, it's calcium that blocks the absorption of iron, but there is no data to show that the iron and calcium they use in their formula prevents this problem.  There is, however, data that shows the type of iron (and some other minerals) used in their multi are only absorbed in the upper part of the small intestine, which has been bypassed in us.