Family and Friends Issues

nicp28
on 9/24/11 2:53 pm - weston, MI

Alright guys this might be a bit long and I'll apologize from the start but here it goes. . .I have been contemplating bariatric surgery for almost 10 years now.  I went to a consult 9 years ago and then lost my insurance so I couldn't go any further with it then.  Of course I have tried numerous things since then and nothing has worked to keep any weight off.  Now i start looking back into it since I have good insurance and I am just totally miserable and at my highest weight ever and I talk to my husband about it and he says to do what I need to do.  He supported me when I mentioned it to my sister-in-law and she said "why? you aren't big enough to have that you can lose it on your own"  This was at the beginning of august.  My surgery has been scheduled since the mid part of August and my family has known about it and my really close friends who are like another set of parents have known about it and it is scheduled for November 2nd and all of a sudden yesterday more than half of them have started telling me they don't think I need it and that i can do it on my own and that they just don't see why I'm doing this.  Now I am just totally lost and upset and I don't know what to do.  My friend who is like a father to me since I don't talk to mine (he doesn't even know I am doing this) started crying last night he is so concerned about it.  Now today my step-daughter tells me she thinks I could do it on my own and doesn't see why I am doing it, my nephew said the same thing.  I have talked to all of them pretty much since day one about this and they are just blowing me away.  It's not like I am doing this to look better it's to feel better I am just so upset.  Sorry I just had to vent they are just making me doubt myself.
sniffles722002
on 9/24/11 3:22 pm - Puyallup, WA