I'm a Newbie and I'm panicking - HELP!!

50andFabulous
on 7/19/11 4:41 am - TX
Hello everyone,
I am a newbie to the site but have become totally engrossed with it over this past week. (I'm at work now and should be working, but had to stop by!!)  Anyway here is my issue.  I got my date last week (16 Aug)  I am super excited!!!  The problem that i am having is that eventhough i am mentally and physically preparing for the surgery, at the same time I feel like I am eating more!!  At times i catch myself thinking, you better have this now, because you may never be able to have it again.  I am freaking out!!!!!  Is this normal?  Did anyone else go through this and how did you deal with it.  I am counting the hours before my surgery but i just hope that i don't fall off the wagon before i even get a chance to get on!  Please help me!!  I'm scared!!!

DLS
Mrsz
on 7/19/11 4:48 am
I did have a similar experience, but I accounted for all of the foods I ate. My surgeon was very clear to say that my surgery would be canceled if I gained any weight at all. One of the very wise people on this site told me that it is a pretty common reaction and that it is called a food funeral. So, don't freak out. 

Congrats on your surgery date. See you on the losers bench soon!

NHPOD9
on 7/19/11 4:48 am
Even though I logically knew that I would be able to have most of my favorite foods in the future, I still went through a period of binging, right after I got my date.  It lasted almost 2 weeks, or enough time to have regained 4lbs.  But, that feeling is gone now and I'm kicking myself for having that weight gain to lose, as well as another 4+ pounds.  I can't tell you how to avoid or stop the behavior, other than to tell yourself that food will not always be so limiting, so it really isn't your last chance. Would it help if you were accountable to someone to make sure you don't allow yourself to gain weight, ie, weekly weight check-ins with your doc or PCP?
Peacebstill