Need Walking Music Suggestions

ramona214
on 10/29/08 10:05 pm

What are some of your favorite tunes to which you walk?  I need some for my iPod -- just started walking a couple of days ago.  Some of these songs seem to have a beat of about 2.6 mph (where I am now).  I'm looking for additional ideas.  (graduated high school in 1976, to give you an idea of the "era" of music I came up with). To give you an example of what I like/have:

Queen: We are the Champtions, Another One Bites the Dust, etc.

Styx: Renegade

Garth Brooks: We Shall be Free

Gloria Gaynor: I will Survive

Commodores: Brick House

Ramona
291/279/healthy  (RNY 10/21/08)

on2anewme
on 10/30/08 12:13 am - Vancouver, WA
I just downloaded a few more to add to my collection yesterday, but we have different styles so I won't list mine (I graduated in '78). 
What I did was just go to itunes so that I could listen to them first.  I just listened to some until I found ones that would get me going. 
They also have walking/workout music.  The biggest loser tunes are on there too.

Happy walking!
Debbie

Highest: 292 / Surgery: 246 / Current: 182/ Goal 150ish ??                              
(deactivated member)
on 10/30/08 12:50 am
This is my rock out and feel good about myself at work mix

http://www.mixwit.com/eanthonyheston/beautiful-damn-it

Mix wit is a pretty sweet site if you like making mix tapes
Pam T.
on 10/30/08 1:14 am - Saginaw, MI
I really like PodRunnerwww.podrunner.com

You pick the pace at which you walk or run and download tracks with that beat-per-minute time.  So I walk around 3.6 to 3.8 miles per hour which means I use tracks that are at around 136-138BPM.  To tracks are kind of techno or modern with a definite beat in the background that keeps your pace up for the entire workout.  Most tracks are 1 hour long, so gives you time to do a solid workout without changing songs (although the hour long track is a compilation of several different songs in itself).