3rd time BETTER be the charm!

nursejacq
on 4/4/15 5:25 am, edited 4/4/15 5:53 am

Hello to everyone else here--

My name is Jacqueline, and admit it... I have been a lurker on several boards now over the past year, during which I have been extensively researching possible revisions for my band over bypass clusterf*ck of a situation. I figured it was about time I said hello to the people that have been helping me so much (whether they knew it or not).

MY STORY:
First of all, let me just say that I am a medical professional that has done extensive research on all of the available revision procedures, and feel like the duodenal switch would be the best option for me, both given my health history, relatively young age, and active lifestyle. The success rates, both in terms of weight loss, and its permanence, have been better for duodenal switch patients... not to mention their improved overall quality of life.  All that said, I have Blue Cross/Blue Shield of Illinois for my insurance, and under the explanation of benefits, it stipulates SPECIFICALLY that the DUODENAL SWITCH is definitely NOT COVERED... so this is/will be a self pay endeavor/investment for me.

I have had both RNY gastric bypass surgery in 2000, and lap band placement done in 2008. I stand 5'2", and at my heaviest in 2000, I weighed as much as 250 lbs. After having RNY gastric bypass surgery, my lowest weight was 145 lbs, in 2005.

My concern is that I am have been actively exercising with a trainer twice a week, and I limit my carbohydrate intake; yet, I have
managed to creep up back around 200 lbs again. I have also developed an increase in my blood pressure, along with the weight gain.

It is for these reasons, and a few others, that I am seeking a revision to the duodenal switch surgery. I am aware that the DS is a