NEW HERE...BCBS insurance. Anyone know the process for revision?

jo11
on 7/7/14 11:45 pm

Hello...I am new here.

I am in the very beginning stages of deciding on a band to bypass revision. I was banded in August of 2009. Took me 2 years to lose 65ish pounds. I then got pregnant with my third child and, well, all hell broke loose. I gained most of it back. I am just so tired of the fills, unfills, food getting stuck, pain after one bite, sliming, etc...etc...

My doctor says that a bypass is the best procedure because of scar tissue. I am very scared, but I know I need it. 

I feel like I try very hard and lose 20, then gain it back. It's a constant battle!!!

Anyway...I am waiting for the girl to call me back from the office, but has anyone been approved quickly for surgery. I am a teacher and I am hoping to have surgery in August. Does anyone know what the process is for BCBS PPO out of PA?

Do I have to go through the long 6 months like I did with the band or will they approve with less requirements because it's a revision? I think with the band I had to do 6 months of visits, see nutritionist, psych doc, go to a support meeting, etc. 

Jo 1962
on 7/9/14 12:04 am, edited 7/9/14 7:28 am - NearHouston, TX

Hi Jo....another Jo here :)

I too am in the beginning stages of getting a revision from a lapband to Vertical Sleeve.  I JUST got off the phone with BCBS to ask if I really had to see a nutritionist for 4 visits (90 days) since this is a revision. In fact, my diet is fine...its the band that keeps me from eating it...mostly random tightening.  I'm grateful for what the band has done for me, considering all the comorbidities I used to have but.....just got stuck one too many times...living this way is NOT acceptable!