Revision from sleeve to gastric bypass

yvonne M.
on 11/22/13 6:05 am - garland, TX

Hello I live in dallas tx and had gastric sleeve in May 2009. I have gained almost 50lbs back. I will be cash pay. Wondering who had revision surgery with dr John Alexander. How much did you pay because cash is a very big factor. 

MSSEXXC74
on 11/22/13 6:39 am

Are you revising to the DS?

yvonne M.
on 11/22/13 6:40 am - garland, TX

No I was actually thinking to revise to the gastric bypass. 

MSSEXXC74
on 11/22/13 6:43 am

Oh ok I just thought the DS because you already have the first part of the DS. Plus when people don't loose enough with the sleeve the give the Ds to get to loose the rest of the weight.

yvonne M.
on 11/22/13 6:47 am - garland, TX

I thought a lot about the DS. I think I may loose too much weight with that and plus I'm self pay. I don't make much, I'm a nurse but it's going to take me some time to save that money by myself. So I figure I need to be healthy so the malabsorption from the bypass will do the trick and still keep me at a healthy 160-165lbs. Did you have DS? Mssexxc74?

MSSEXXC74
on 11/22/13 6:58 am

I had rny Nov 9, 2000. Was miserable couldn't eat and dumped ALL the time. Had a revision to DS on Oct. 30, 2013. There are ways to stop loosing with the DS.  Plus its a surgery tool that works for life.  With rny you start absorbing calories again. I started regaining weight because I only could eat soft calories.  It seems it with would be less expensive to get the 2nd part of DS instead of reversing your sleeve then converting to a new surgery. But I don't know.

yvonne M.
on 11/22/13 7:11 am - garland, TX

I have an appointment on Tuesday with a new dr. Hopefully I can get more insight. I've always thought about the DS, but being self pay and single, I have to be careful.

MSSEXXC74
on 11/22/13 3:09 pm