RNY to DS

Nancy G.
on 3/19/13 11:10 pm - La Salle, IL

Hi Everyone

I am 5 years out from my RNY.  It was considered successful as I lost 125 pounds but I still had almost another 100 to go.  Unfortunately, that did not happen and over the last few years I have regained about 30 lbs.  I did not choose DS at the time of my first surgery as it was considered experimental and my insurance balked at the idea. 

I have always regretted not having DS originally.  Now my question that I have been contemplating for a couple of years is:  Should I get a revision to DS.  I have a problem with carbs.  I know that.  Will the DS allow me any different alternatives or will I overeat this surgery as well.  What are the risks of a revision.  I know this is a more complicated surgery.  Is it worth the risks? 

I realize no one can make this choice but me but I would like to hear from some of you who have "been there and done that"  Thanks to everyone for their input! 

Cat Lady

Lynn W.
on 3/19/13 11:18 pm - NJ

Hi Nancy,

I think you'll find that you're in good company among folks pursing that option (myself included). Browse this board for similar posts... theres a lot of good info here.

Best wishes for the journey...

Lynn 

Well-behaved women seldom make history.  --Laurel Thatcher Ulrich

Hislady
on 3/20/13 8:12 am - Vancouver, WA

Also ask on the DS forum they can tell you anything you need to know and who the best revision surgeons are, I know it takes a very specialized doc to do it well.

Ladytazz
on 3/21/13 12:55 pm