Looking into revision from a VBG...

gwynnkitty
on 9/21/12 6:29 pm - North York, Canada
 Hi everyone.

I had a VBG in 2001, with a starting weight of 351lbs. I lost 125lbs in about 13 months, and then got pregnant way too soon. After the birth of my son, my weight started creeping back up - I've been dieting on and off since 2003. 

I'm at the point now where I'm almost back to my "starting" weight - I weighed in today at the dr's at 339lbs. :( I'm having a lot of pain in my stomach and back these days, and on Thursday of next week I have to go for an Upper GI series so we can see what's going on in there.

I'm so frustrated! I have no idea how long this process will take, if I'll even be approved, which surgery is "right" for a revision, etc. 

I guess I'm just looking to hear how others have done, and that there might actually be light at the end of this tunnel - one that's NOT a train, LOL. 

Thanks.
Tabatha

Referral to Surgeon: February 12, 2013 Appointment with Surgeon: April 24, 2013 Endoscopy: April 30, 2013 Referral sent to Bariatric Registry: May 2, 2013 Orientation Appointment: May 27, 2013 Dr Klein Appointment: June 6, 2013 Second Upper GI Series: June 11 Dr Glazer: August 12, 2013 RN/RD/SW: August 29. 2013 Follow-up With Dr Klein: September 23, 2013 Start Opti: October 23, 2013 Surgery Date: November 14, 2013 

Amy Farrah Fowler
on 9/21/12 7:17 pm
 At 339lbs, I'd look seriously at the DS, as it has the best chance to get the excess weight off, and keep it off according to studies. I highly recommend you look at some peer reviewed studies and data about the different surgeries, and comparing them, before picking a surgeon.

The thing is, you can go to any surgeon, and I assure you they will recommend a procedure they do, regardless of whether or not it's best for you. The other issue is that while the DS is the most successful weight loss surgery, there are only a few surgeons that will do the revision to it.