Why did you/are you seeking revision? Did you regain?

Jackie P.
on 1/30/12 11:07 pm - Hamilton, Canada
VSG on 04/10/13
hello!

I am a newbie researching RNY surgery. As a constant regainer of weight throughout my life, I am scared of also regaining the weight from RNY. Did you? Is that why you are getting revison surgery? If you did regain the weight, did you ever think you would? I'm very scared of going through this, to only regain like all the other times.

Any insight would be appreciated!
heathercross
on 1/31/12 1:52 am - New York, NY
 I had an RNY in 2002, I went from 305 to 183 in less than a year.  It was a piece of cake.  There is no way you cannot lose weight on the RNY.  I was very strict for years.  I worked out 7 days a week, sometimes twice a day. I think this is why I was so successful.  However, I was always hungry after a few short hours. Later I found out it was bc my pouch was made incredibly large as my surgeon was very conservative on pouch sizes and my staple line was more like a V in my tummy then a straight line, cutting off a part of the stomach.  Also, he didn't bypass as much as other RNY doctors were doing at this time.  

When I threw out my back in 2007/2008, and got a bulging disc, I had to stop the insane workouts and the running and as such, the weight just came back in droves.  I regained 65lbs.

Did I think I would regain, no.  Its a slippery slope.  I think the key to success is to educate yourself, have an excellent support group around you, EXERCISE and therapy.  Find out why you were fat in the first place.  I think its more mental then we all allow ourselves to believe.  All these ingredients will make you successful regardless of the surgery you chose.

Jackie P.
on 1/31/12 2:07 am - Hamilton, Canada
VSG on 04/10/13
Thank you heather! That was very informative! :)
(deactivated member)
on 1/31/12 10:57 am