Ten years post-op, regain, revision?

foogoogirl
on 12/16/11 4:14 am - PA
Hi! I had roux-en y surgery ten years ago. I originally weighed 302 lbs, got to 149, and now sit at 237. Isaw a surgeon earlier this year about the regain issue, he told me I woukld have to always struggle with my weight, and sent me for xrays of my pouch. When I went back to see him he basically told me to go on a diet for 3 mths an then go back to see him.
I am a nurse in a hospital that actually does bariatric surgery, so yesterday I decided to see on of the surgeons there.She was extremely nice, told me to have a barium swallow done and EGD. She said if there is a fistula that insurance will approve a revision.
My question is what signs symptoms did you have with a fistula? I have reflux that began earlier this year, I know my pouch is stretched as I can eat ALOT at one time (and those xrays I had said my pouch was larger than expected but they had nothing to compare it to as I had no other xrays of my original pouch size so they couldn't judge exactly how much I stretched it). So other minor symptoms is I have nausea every once in awhile, out of nowhere, not related to anything, just a slimy gaggy feeling that happens for no apparent reason. I occasionally will get a hot feeling across my  diaphragm that lasts a few seconds, and I do seem to have increased diarrhea, sorry, foul smelling, mucousy, and stringy.
One more question, is it possible to have a fistula if your pouch and stomach were completely divided? If there was a fistula wouldn't pouch contents be emptying into your abdomen making you extremely ill?
Thanks!
smileyjamie72
on 12/17/11 10:00 am - Palmer, AK

Hi there!!!!  What are you looking to revise to?  A Duodenal Switch?
I go in for my RNY to DS revision on 12/29.  There are 2 RNY to DS revision surgeons near you..... sort of.  Dr. Buchwald in Minnesota, I believe, and Dr. Roslin in New York.

I read this publication, and this is what "sealed" my decision!!!!!!!