Revision from VBG to RNY approved

Cathy G.
on 2/18/11 12:39 pm - Douglasville, GA
Wow, I can not believe how smooth the process was to getting the approval and my surgery scheduled. I have been putting this off for 20 years and now I will be having surgery on March 15th.
Now the next part begins, learning all about protein powders and drinks. I hate milk so this might be a challenge. I am so glad to have the support groups and the Internet something that was not around the first time. How things change in 25 years.
If you have any tips I would be glad to hear them. I am just so excited. Life is Good
jokenaround
on 2/20/11 7:50 am
Hello,

May I ask why the revision from the sleeve to the RNY?  I am also having that done and would love to know why you have choosen to do this too.

Thanks so much!!  Joanne
StacysMom
on 2/21/11 2:15 pm
 VBG is NOT the sleeve.  VBG is Vertical Band Gastroplasty.  I think it was a type of stomach stapling done many years ago.  

"VSG" is the sleeve:  Vertical Sleeve Gastrectomy.   
Bobbie D.
on 2/20/11 8:27 am
Hi Cathy,

Congratulations! I finally broke down 10 years after my VBG and checked into revision in August. I had approval within 4 days of my consult. I couldn't believe it was that easy either. I did have a camera put down there and told that the band was so tight it was no wonder only slider foods would go through it.

I had my revision to RNY on 9/1/10. I will have my 6 month follow up this week. I'm interested with how well I'm absorbing the vitamins and supplements that I'm finally good at remembering :)

You might want to find some protein shake that you like for the beginning, but my doctor wanted me off of them as soon as possible and getting the required protein through foods so I would have the full sensation instead of the liquid just running right through.

Good luck to you!!

rebeccaford
on 2/21/11 1:57 pm - Honolulu, HI