What were your reasons for revision from LB to RNY?

WASaBubbleButt
on 12/2/10 8:15 am - Mexico
On November 30, 2010 at 2:10 PM Pacific Time, jackie008 wrote:
Ok so I am a newbie and will have the lapband done Dec 15th.

Of course all the risks are put out there and i signed at least 30 docs saying i understand the risks, but reading about it and getting it 1st hand is totially different. Do you think there are things newbies can do to improve their chances for success with the band? what happens to bandsters after 5, 10, 15 years???

Jackie

I was the poster girl for bands.  I really did do everything the right way and it turned out to be a very bad surgery for me.

The band has the slowest weight loss, the least weight loss, the highest regain, and the most mechanical problems of all surgery types.  When I was banded it was only FDA approved for 5 years so there were no long term US studies.  But now that the studies are available and we have safer and more effective surgery types I don't really understand why anyone would get a band anymore.

Banded people 10 and 15 years post op?  I don't believe they exist.  I've been posting on WLS boards for 4 years and I've only come across one person that was banded for 10 years and she was there looking for revision info.

People do not typically keep bands long.  There are some exceptions but far more tend to become stats.  Check out the sleeve board.. probably 1/3 of sleeved people were previously banded.

Wouldn't a more effective surgery that is safer long term make more sense than banding?

Previously Midwesterngirl

The band got me to goal, the sleeve will keep me there.

See  my blog for newbies: 
http://wasabubblebutt.blogspot.com/
jelting134
on 12/2/10 10:48 pm