Learning about revision

NJ_Princess
on 11/10/10 12:47 pm - NJ
Hi, I am new! This is my first post.

I had RNY 11/05. When I started considering RNY I was 286 lbs. I started taking synthroid for an underactive thyroid and was told by the doctor I would lose weight instead I ended up at 303 when I had my surgery.  My lowest weight after surgery was 203 but that was for a very short time I was pretty much maintaining a weight of 210, then my weight went up to about 225 and recently I was as high as 242.  I have been dieting and exercising for 2 months and takingphentermine for a month and I am down to 230 lbs. 

I had never read or heard anything about revision surgery.  When I found out there was revision surgery I went to Barix where I had my first surgery and saw the surgeon *****placed my surgeon.  He only does lap band over RNY and didn't think it was good for me do to scar tissue - i have had several abdominal surgiers and my original RNY was open due to scar tissue.  He recommended stomaphyx while researching that procedure I found this websit and ended up contacting Dr. Greenbaum who is currently not doing revision to DS he is doing Distal RNY which doesn't seem to work as well as DS per the info I have read on this board. 

I am looking for input I really don't want to get more surgery but I don't know what to do.  I feel like such a failure. I know many people who have had RNY and have been so successful. I feel like a failure.  Is Distal RNY something I should even consider?

sophielyn
on 11/11/10 6:30 am