Band to RNY surgery Pain

bubbles1
on 10/18/10 11:51 am - Surprise, AZ
How bad is the pain after surgery? Scale of 1-10...10 being the worse. I am so worried about pain...

WASaBubbleButt
on 10/18/10 10:46 pm - Mexico
On October 18, 2010 at 6:51 PM Pacific Time, bubbles1 wrote:
How bad is the pain after surgery? Scale of 1-10...10 being the worse. I am so worried about pain...

I have no personal experience with RNY but what I can tell you is that you have a fantastic doctor and I do not believe he is going to let you suffer.  Any surgery can cause pain, but the doctor can certainly manage it.

Previously Midwesterngirl

The band got me to goal, the sleeve will keep me there.

See  my blog for newbies: 
http://wasabubblebutt.blogspot.com/
TamaraL
on 10/18/10 11:59 pm
I am a little over a week out from lap band to RNY. I have had little pain on the left side where the RNY is.  Where I hurt is where they removed the band and where they removed the port.  For some reason I have pain under my right ribs.

I would say the pain is similar to when you had the lap band.  I had morphine at hospital and used mostly in evening.  I am still using lortab but only at night. 

Scale 1-10 I would say 7 or 8

Tamara

Sarah P.
on 10/22/10 9:52 pm
I had my band removed about 3 months ago and converted to rny 3 weeks ago. I used the morphine pump in the hospital and 1 or 2 days of oral meds after I got home and then nothing I have been back a work for a week. I am a little sore but I think that the biggest thing is how tired I get, and easily.

HW / SW / CW / GW
270   252   178 150        
StillHopefulinAZ
on 10/23/10 3:39 pm
I had my band removed earlier this month and I swear it hurt worse than having the band put in.  I too had the most pain where they took the band and port out.  I have not had my RNY yet but I am so hoping it wont be that bad. 
Banded 10/05/07 Dr Lopez Corvala Tijuana Mexico
Lapband removal 10/07/10 Dr Juarez Phoenix, AZ
RNY 12/13/10 Dr Juarez Phoenix, AZ

TamaraL