First time looking into Revision - lots of questions

Julia G.
on 7/15/10 5:50 pm - Bakersfield, CA
I had RNY in August 2004....lost 100lbs but I still weighed 200 lbs.  I maintained at 200 for a while.  In 2007 I had a baby - I only gained 16lbs and lost them within 2 weeks of having the baby....fast forward to 2008 I had baby #2 - I was already uo 13lbs (213lbs) when I got pregnant then I gained another 35lbs getting me close to 250....After the baby I got down to 220 and have not moved since!!  I have been debating a revision  surgery since 2007 before I found out I was pregnant...I had some tests done and sure enough - I had an enlarged stoma and intestine.

I have gained up to 230lbs but I am pretty much at 220 now....since baby no 2 I have gone as low as 215 but no less.  I have employer sponsered Athem in California (my husband works for the County) and I have a million questions.  I see most people going from RNY to DS....is this the best?  Do insurance companies cover revisional surgeries?  what is the recovery period?  Success?  But mostly -- how do i decide which surgery is best??  I filled out an online form and hopefully I will hear from a local surgeon by Monday or Tuesday....
karenh1127
on 7/16/10 1:08 am - Deer Park, TX
I am going from lapband to RNY in a few weeks.  I hear some about the ds but I understand it to be a bit more risky than others.  You need to see a surgeon so he/she can help you decide what surgery is best for you.  Good luck on your journey.

charleston-mom
on 7/16/10 2:11 am
Not sure what to tell you. I went from lapband to RNY and it was the best thing I ever did.