Made My Decision & Picked My DATE!!!

kittenqutie
on 2/6/10 1:26 am - Phoenix, AZ
SO I have been researching for 3 months, I have the "Band" and NEED revision because of the WICKED REFLUX and Esophageal damage that was created by the Band

I want to THANK EVERYONE for all their help and information.  It was really hard because you always have to pick the best surgery for YOU.  My final choice is RNY.  When I started looking into WLS wwwaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyy back in 2000, I wanted RNY but my PCP at the time said and I quote "that's very drastic "we" should try other things before "we" head that route"---WTF  Who is this "WE" he was talking about he was 6 foot and weighed all of 150 (soaking wet with rocks in his pockets)  I was the FAT one.  But the ins I had required a referral so without his consent surgery was a no go.

2 years ago (yesterday) I had the band put in I talked myself into it because there was lower risks, it was reversible, and you couldn't turn the TV on without seeing one of those damned lion/cat commercials.  Deep down i wanted bypass but the band was and easy sell to my and my family.  In the end I have a bit of buyers remorse BUT that's all going to change on March 1st.

I'm scared, happy, stressed and all those other emotions that go along with it but OH has been a life saver.  Long story short (i know too late) this forum is great and each of you have a special place in my heart!!!

(deactivated member)
on 2/6/10 2:53 am
Congratulations on making your decision and picking your date! I wish you much success on your new journey!
ARIEL07
on 2/8/10 3:23 am
Im having a revision from Lapband to RNY as well. My surgery is scheduled for March 22nd. I wish you a speedy rcovery and keep us posted on your progress.
kittenqutie
on 2/13/10 2:48 am - Phoenix, AZ
Thank you sooooo much for your well wishes.  I will keep you posted on my recovery.  We can get thru this together!!!

(deactivated member)
on 2/8/10 2:07 pm - Canandaigua, NY