Band Complications

SWJ_81
on 1/12/10 10:40 am - AR
Hello everyone!  I am new to the band board and have a question.  I had pretty much decided that RNY was going to be the route for me, but now have started leaning toward the band.  How many of you ahve had complications with your band that involved the doctor having to "go back in" for any reason?  I'm just wondering if the percentage is fairly high or do mmost people have no trouble.  Thanks!

emjayel56
on 1/12/10 11:28 am - Boynton Beach,, FL
I have had a whole slew of complications from lapband over an 8 year period.  I eventually took out the band and decided to put in another band only to have the same problems.  I then 4 months ago revised to an RNY and I am extremely overjoyed with it. Every band complication has disappeared and I lost more weight in the 4 months with the bypass than in 9 years with the bands.  Good luck with your decision; go to the lapband board... there are many happy bandsters but do you research and decide which surgery is best for you.  maryjo

BELOW GOAL WEIGHT... LOST 151 LBS AND CURRENTLY WEIGH 138 LBS.  ... Maryjo

angibug
on 1/12/10 1:45 pm - Las Vegas, NV

Yes, I had the band about 31/2 years ago...miserable experiance for me. The most that I lost was about 30lbs. I just revised to RNY last month. I was NEVER satisfied with the band, always hungry or having food get stuck. Just do your homework. For some, the band is a very good tool for them. Don't expect your weight loss to fast with the band. Only 1-2 lbs a week. I always tell people that if they want to loose slowly try weigh****chers. It's cheaper and you don't have to go through a major surgery.

USAF Wife
on 1/12/10 1:50 pm
Had the band for 8 short months, complications/pain started within the first 3 months, and just proceeded to get worse. I revised to VSG (the sleeve) 8 months in, and it was the best decision to get that thing out of my body.