Scare to death to make a decision!!

super_susan46
on 1/1/10 11:15 pm
Hi all - I am new to this postng thing! LOL

I had Lap Band surgery in March of 2009 - been a roller coaster ever since! I either can eat everything and never fill full or be so tight that I can't even swallow my own spit. There is no happy in between.

My doctors office called me on New Years Eve and said that my insurance had approved me (in less than 2 weeks) for a revision to a RNY. When we submitted to the insurance I told them to just submit and they would probably deny and then I would make my decision for sure if I wanted to go through with it or not.

Well they approved and fast. This was reviewed by a doctor at my insurance they must have thought there was problems too. My thing is now I am scared to death. I mean I couldn't make the band work - what if the RYN is worse on me. I want to be able to eat and basially not starve to death - only being able to eat 4 bites make it sound miserable. I don't want to be miserable. What if I had alot of complications. My husband has said even before the lap-band that this surgery was way too serious for me to have. Does to ending result make it worth it. I'm scared to death!!!

Any insight on this would be greatly appreciated.
Kerry J.
on 1/1/10 11:44 pm - Santa Clara, UT
It sounds like you don't know how RNY works compared to how a Lap Band is supposed to work. It that's the case, I wouldn't let anyone cut me open and alter my guts.

This isn't your doctors life we're talking about here, it's your life and it's up to you to know what you want and how you want to live. Have you looked into and know how all the weight loss surgeries work and how you will need to life the rest of your life after the surgery?

Why are you going to get RNY instead of VSG or DS? What are the advantages of RNY compared to VSG and DS? What are the disadvantages of RNY, how will you eat, how will you live after the surgery.