Revision and repeat hair loss?

Bethicle
on 12/14/09 2:15 pm - Vancouver, WA
Hey everyone, I am new to the revision board. I've had my lap bad since may 2007 and I honestly loved it. I lost almost all my excess weight, I have about 30 pounds to loose. The problem is that my doctor recently told me that my band has slipped. So my choice is to take it out or get a revision. I am hoping to get the vertical sleeve.
My question is to people who have already had their revision surgeries...When I had my lap band surgery I lost quite a bit of hair, now two years later my hair is fianlly back to almost normal...I am so scared that I am going to loose my hair again, my hair is not as thick as it was before my surgery and i can not imagine losing as much as i did last time..Id be bald! When you guys had your revision surgeries did you lose your hair again, and if so was it as bad as the first time around?

Thanks!
Beth
ricki
on 12/14/09 7:27 pm
I know this is a big concern for many, if not, most who are about to embark on major surgery.  I have thick hair and the prospect of having less really didn't bother me but I did lose a lot with my original RNY in 94.. revision was in o6 to DS and I lost some but not nearly as much.  In both instances, it only lasted less than 6 months and completely grew back. (I guess, because I have too much hair, it's hard to say)  Because my hair is curly I don't bru**** or even comb it between shampoos, I just gel and scrunch.. so when I do wash my hair I get  what looks to me like a lot but is in reality just a normal amount of hair in the drain.  I'm almost 100% sure this is from not brushing it daily and not vitamin/deficiencies.  My labs are good.

I know a lot of people who wear wigs during the thin phase of hair loss and they are stunning.. I would do that if I needed to.  I think they are awesome and so much easier than caring for your own hair.