Band over Bypass

snedly318
on 10/22/09 3:26 pm - Mine Hill, NJ

Hello!  I am a former Bariatric Nurse and am an RNY post-op.  My surgery was 5 years ago.  I lost 114 and have since (following an extended illness) regained 50.  I was planning on the ROSE procedure, but my surgeon recommended the Band over Bypass option.  I am scheduled for my surgery on 11/24 (yes, two days before Thanksgiving....my family is dreading this years menu ...  lol!!)  Anyway, I was wondering if there are any Band over Bypass post-ops out there with any words of experience, encouragement, etc.  My insurance says I can have a covered revision, now they actually have to pre-auth the actual procedure.  The key is to prove that there was a failure of the original WLS, I recently had a diagnotic EGD (endoscopy) which indicated that my anastomosis is more than double what it should be so I think we have proven that anatomically the anastomosis is outside post-op dimensions.  I hope that placates Aetna.  But I would really like to hear about patient experiences......

Snedly318
maas66
on 10/23/09 4:09 am
hello, 1st i want to wish you the best of luck on your upcoming revision.  I to had the band over bypass orig surg was 5/22/03 and i had my revision 9/2/09 other than being use to eating normal foods before revision now i throw up alot i am a very nervous eater , i have 2 little ones screaming in your face at dinner does not help i need to learn to control my anxiety. but thank god i switched doctors and he took care of the 1st dr. mess ups.  i am very happy i did the revision i lost 16lbs since 9/2 but i need to go for my 1st fill the begining of november i am starting to feel like i am eating a little to much. but other than that its a breeze compared to the RNY  in 2003.  good luck and best wishes hang in there its easier for the band over bypass( i think) but beware of what you eat and how much. 
(deactivated member)
on 10/24/09 7:05 am - San Diego, CA