EGD with Sclerotherapy

(deactivated member)
on 9/28/09 12:52 pm
i am scheduled for an EGD with Sclerotherapy Wed 9/30.  Does anybody have any advice or comments? I dread the clear liquid diet for one week and then full liquids for anoher week.  ugh

Dr Hodson in Atlanta is doing the procedure.

Ruby
RNY 3/11/2005
262/125/140
hi/lo/today
Teena A.
on 10/1/09 1:53 am - Mesquite, TX
I am writing to see how you are feeling after your procedure?

Sorry I did not see this post prior to your surgery.

I have no experience with
Sclerotherapy personally, but I do know the people I have seen on here that have had it said it did not help and was very disappointed.

I hope all is well with you and that it works out for you.

Good luck.

Teena Adler
Facebook Contact Info/Email address:Skyedan[email protected]
10/09/09 - Distal Gastric Bypass (ERNY) Revision - Common Channel 90

"Never Let People,Places,Or Things Stand In Your Way Of Fulfilling Your Goals And Living Out Your Dreams." Teena Adler

(deactivated member)
on 10/3/09 7:40 am
I do not have much faith in the procedure, but my doctor wanted me to do it so.....   Every thing went fine.  I am a little sore in my chest, but nothing to complain about.  I am on a clear liquid diet for a week and then a full liquid the second week.  After that I am to start adding in flakely fish, eggs, etc.

My surgeon said my stoma was about the size of a half dollar.  It should be about the size of a dime.  WELL then he told me he made my stoma about the size of a nickel, so I would not lose too much weight.  I am not happy about his decision.  I have done everything I could to keep the weight off and when I thought he was going to help me, he makes this silly decision and does not help me as much as I had hoped for.

Before the procedure I was told a lot of people have it done twice.  If I should do it again, I will have to have it done before the first of the year because of an insurance change.