I am new to the revision board. .... Have a few questions

plan2behealthy
on 8/30/09 2:52 am - Long Beach, CA
I am 13 months post op for RNY.  The problem is that I have had a stricture/ulcer problem that has been going on for the past nine months.  I have been dilated 8 times.  But problem is still there.

My surgeon now says my only option is revision surgery.  Is there anyone here that has had to have revision surgery due to complications from strictures?

What was your recovery like.  My Doc says it's like ground zero..... I am not happy about this. But I can't go the rest of my life on pureed foods either. 

Linda

shele
on 8/30/09 4:24 am
I don't personally have your problem, but a good friend of mine did.  She had to have a new pouch made, and was like a newbie. She didn't loose alot of weight or anything, and seemed to do really well.  Good Luck!

shele
LiFeLoNg hEaLtH imY GoAl
RNY 5-11-04 280
Lowest weight 174
Highest re-gain 238

erny 3-23-09 (120 common channel

low post revision 190
Current Weight  204

Height 5'6"

GOAL 154 Normal BMI

Kathy H.
on 8/30/09 4:45 pm - Kent, WA
Hi, Linda!

First of all, welcome to the revision board. I'm sorry you're having trouble with your RNY. We all have such high hopes when we're wheeled into the OR, and it's such a drag when it doesn't work out the way we'd hoped.

I had a VBG in 1987, and was recently revised to a Duodenal Switch. I just want to make sure you're aware of this surgery, and that you do some of your *own* research to decide what surgery would be best for you to revise to. The DS has the best long-term results in terms of not only weight loss, but also co-morbidity resolution.