Has anyone had a reversal of the rny

MerMer
on 7/5/09 11:03 am
I had lap rny on 6/18/09 and I am not doing well at all. I can barely drink anything and I feel horrible. Please help! Does anyone know if this can be reversed?
Beautywithin
on 7/5/09 12:08 pm - San Jose, CA
Hello MerMer,

I can only speak from my experience when I had my Lap RNY 8 years ago. I too had a hard time keeping anything down including fluids for the first 2 months. In fact, I had to stay an extra 2 days in the hospital because I was not eating or drinking what the doctors felt was an appropriate amount.

I noticed you just had this done about 2 weeks ago. I'm no expert, but unless your having excessive pain or vomiting, I was just try to be patient. I think your surgery is so new that what you are  explaining sounds normal like what I experienced.

Here I am 8 years out and looking in a revision because I've gained almost all of my weight back.

I hope you get to feeling better soon.
Kerry J.
on 7/5/09 9:25 pm - Santa Clara, UT
I know what you mean, I had RNY for 28 years, it helped me get the weight off, but then I had to work like crazy to keep it off. I managed to do that pretty well for about 15 years, but when I couldn't exercise every day the weight came back and I never could get it off again. You can read all about it on my profile if you want to.

I got a revision to DS last September and it saved my life, I'm so happy I found out about the DS and found a surgeon that could revise me. I'm loving life again thanks to the DS.

Kerry 
mew6495
on 7/5/09 8:42 pm, edited 7/5/09 9:29 pm - MI
On July 5, 2009 at 6:03 PM Pacific Time, MerMer wrote: I had lap rny on 6/18/09 and I am not doing well at all. I can barely drink anything and I feel horrible. Please help! Does anyone know if this can be reversed?  Hello Mer Mer,