lapband to DS? and Surgeon=Salesman.

catalina07
on 7/1/09 2:13 am - NY
Revision on 11/20/14

I have heard a lot about lapband to RNY. I am really interested in having a revision to DS but I am just starting to research it.  Yesterday, I went to my surgeons office to talk to them about possibly revision and discuss how unhappy I am with my band. It's been 2 years. I lost 60 lbs and gained back about 35 now. I went to them desperate and in tears...and they called the surgeon in to talk to me and basically SELL me on seeing a psyciatrist. He told me that if I failed at the lap band that i would also fail at the RNY. Honestly, i left the office feeling helpless, angry, and like more of a failure then I already did.  I would love to hear any advice possible..

p.s. this is my very first time visiting this board!!

Revision: Band to Bypass - 11/20/14

Lap Band - 7/30/07 

Renee M.
on 7/1/09 3:08 am
If he was that rude to you and straight-up told you that if you "failed the lapband, then you would fail a different surgery type", then it sounds to me like he "fails" as a good surgeon.

Most likely he either doesn't like doing revisions and/or doesn't know how to do a DS, and is making *you* feel guilty because of something HE can't fix.  Of course he's going to refer you to a psych - he'll do anything to string you along and keep you hoping there's something he can do. (Send you to psychs, nutritionists, exercise "therapists", etc)