Slipped Band and considering sleeve-any thoughts?

Shelley123
on 5/28/09 12:53 pm - Hendersonville, TN
I had my band surgery in October 2006.  Am down 85 pounds and went in for a check up and looksy at the band under fluoro.  No symptoms of a slip, no problems, nothing.  My band has slipped BIG time. 
Doc gave me the options, which were to try and get insurance to repair the slippage with a new band OR to convert to either RNY or a sleeve.  After all this time, I'm still not comfortable with the RNY, but I welcome any comments out there.  Anyone with the sleeve care to comment?  I'd love to hear from you!
Thanks in advance,
Shelley
MsBatt
on 5/30/09 2:14 pm, edited 5/30/09 2:15 pm
I have no personal knowledge of the band---I chose the DS, and have the Sleeve as my stomach part of that. I'm 5.5 years post-op, and have never had any stomach problems, can take any medications I did pre-op, have had no food intolerances, etc. I believe I've read that if you have a band slip once, you're more likely to have it happen again.

I'd go with the Sleeve, if you don't have much weight to lose, or with the DS if you do, or if you think you might need the malabsorption to maintain that loss. The DS actually CHANGES your metabolism.
bobbiie
on 5/31/09 2:01 pm - Dayton, NV
Hi Shelley,
First congrats on the loss of 85 lbs!!!
I was banded 09/2004.  Have done O****ill my esophagus dilated.  I was using it as a stomach.  That explains the hault in weight loss and the larger portions I was able to eat.  This was Fall of 2008 total unfill and gained 25 lbs. I had a small fill in March, but not enough restriction.    I am back up to 187.  Highest 214 lowest 159.  I am seeking the VSG.  I have done alot of research.  My main reason not to have RNY, Dumping and messing with the small intestines. 
Dawn  
Tracy
on 6/4/09 12:33 pm - Arlington, TX