Anyone with BCBS IL insurance in bloomington il?

trilla
on 5/25/09 4:35 pm - Normal, IL
I had RNY about 4 years ago. I lost 125 lbs and now have gained 50 lbs back (my BMI is now 41.6). I called BCBS IL and told them i was interested in getting a revision. Although I am not an expert, I felt I was teaching my insurer of the RNY surgery and revisions.

After 45mins on the phone and a lot of being on hold, she tells me that they are no longer covering gastric bypass surgery, however if they would cover if there were complications. I asked what those complications would be and she had no answer.

I couldnt tell if she didnt understand me or was just being evasive. 

I had to deal with this with my previous insurer many years ago due to ignorance or just them just saying they dont do the surgery (even if they actually do).

Has anyone in bloomington il who has BCBS had weight loss surgery (their first or revision)?

If you have had the revision surgery, can you give details- like what exactly did you have to do (letters/history), did you have to have a medically supervised diet for 12 months, what was your BMI, what surgery did you have the second time, where did you go, was the second surgery successful, etc.

I have an appointment with my general physician in late June and with the Kane group this coming up Sat.

any help/advice would be greatly appreciated.

thanks
Princess_Mommy
on 5/26/09 12:13 pm - Vernon Hills, IL

Hi Trilla,

I have BCBS (some offices call it of IL, some of NJ).  Anyway, it actually depends on what your company has in it's documentation.
What I can share with you is my story.
I have RNY in October, 2004.  I lost about 125 pounds, and then stopped.  I failed to make the necessary changes in my life, due in part to bad advice from the surgeon I chose, and in part to my lack of effort in educating myself before I'd done the damage.