What is the correct name of this revision if any?

carvelo
on 5/16/09 7:17 am
I  had my stoma revised surgically(laporscopically) to tighten it again as it was very open and I  had no restriction.  Nothing was done to the pouch though as it was still small.
Is there a name for this procedure or just a standard revision?

Thanks,

Carmen

minus 24 pounds-3.5 weeks after surgery!
271-247
rebeccaford
on 5/16/09 2:57 pm - Honolulu, HI
There are a few names for that...one is the Stomaphyx and another is called ROSE procedure.  I think there might be other ones out there, but I'm not an expert by any means. 

I think there are several definitions of a revision.  I consider what I had a revision...I had a VBG in 2003 and the dr. performed an RNY and then performed a gastrectomy to remove my stomach.   So all I have is a pouch.  Sounds like to me you had a revision of your original surgery, but I'm not a doctor.

Rebecca
Strawberry2
on 5/16/09 10:22 pm
Hi Carmen - I had almost the same thing done but in reverse-- my stoma was ok just my pouch had dialated - from what my dr says ( my original surgeon) my pouch had dialated to 100 cc and now I am down to 25 cc. It considered Revision RNY
Jo -319h/202l - 240h/237sd/218.5c/190goal
Arnold H. Glasgow

Your body is the baggage you must carry through life. The more excess the baggage, the shorter the trip.

carvelo
on 5/17/09 3:47 am
Thanks!  I was confused with all the different procedures out there.  I guess it is just a revised RNY.  I am down 26 pounds in almost 4 weeks!  Is that about average?  I hope to keep going and am worried about it not working :(

Thanks again :-)

C
rebeccaford
on 5/17/09 5:49 am - Honolulu, HI
"They" say that you lose slower after a revision.  Whatever.  Everyone is different.  I lost 25 lbs by week #4. You can't compare yourself to anyone else.  Keep going strong.  Sounds like you are on the right track and doing great!