Newbie 4 days Post-Op

danbarton
on 5/16/09 1:42 pm
I am a newbie, you can read my blog to find out more about me if you like. 

I had revision surgery on May 12, 2009 with Dr. Overcash.  He is the Dr. that did my first bypass as well.

He did an ERNY along with the Stomaphyx procedure and this was done outpatient. 

I've been home 4 days and I feel great.  Still a little discomfort, but otherwise, feeling good.  I've started the liquid diet (he requires 30 days post op)  and am drinking my water. 

I'll be glad to answer anyone's questions about either procedure if I know the answer.  I'll keep everyone more updated. 

Good to be home!!
rebeccaford
on 5/16/09 2:45 pm - Honolulu, HI
Wow!  Sounds like you are doing great!  I had a revision from VBG to RNY and was in the hospital for 6 days...I can't imagine being an outpatient.  Did you have it open or lap?

Keep sipping your water.  It's a challenge for me :-)

Rebecca
Lorie2
on 5/17/09 9:24 am
congratulations on your revision. I had revision in february. I had the erny also. I should of had the stomaphyx done also because my stoma is enlarged and food falls right thru. I'm down about 35 pounds. Did your insurance cover the stomaphyx?
danbarton
on 5/17/09 10:24 am
Insurance did not cover any of my procedure I'm sad to report.  I'll keep you updated on how things are going.  Today, I sat in the garage with my wife while she did some organizing.  I did try to help, but wasn't very much at all.  I do think I overdid it a bit today and am hurting a little tonight.  Overall, I still feel good and have had another good day.  And reply to the other post, yes I am sipping all the water I can :-) 
smileyjamie72
on 5/19/09 6:58 am - Palmer, AK

Congrats!!!!  Nice to see someone only one week out of surgery & doing well.
Can I ask how much money your procedure was?

I did go in and read your profile, I had one question, and I am by no means flaming you.  I am not trying to be mean at all.