starting to consider revision...but need advice!

catalina07
on 3/3/09 1:54 am - NY
Revision on 11/20/14

I have had my lap band for 1.5 years now. I have lost about 40 pounds...and that was in the first few months! After that I can not lose anymore. I am considering going for revision to something more drastic.  First question is, whats the chance of insurance acutally covering a second surgery because the first one didnt work?  My second question is that I have been reading on here people getting revisions to have the lap band...unlike me where i want to have it removed. Why would someone get a lapband after having a more serious surgery? If the more serious one didnt work, wouldnt the lap band not work even more? I hope this doesnt come off rude cause i dont intend it to be. This is my first time posting on this side (normally on the lap band forum). I am just very curious. Any advice or shared experiences would be SOOO appreciated!

Thanks!

Revision: Band to Bypass - 11/20/14

Lap Band - 7/30/07 

babsintx
on 3/3/09 2:06 am - GA
Catalina,

It really depends on why the first procedure isnt working. IF there isnt anything wrong with your band and you dont have a complication like a slip, prolapse, esophageal motility issues, chronic reflux with an empty band or some other complication preventing the band from functioning properly then its harder to get a revision approved. I had my band almost 5 years and had numerous complications resulting in removal and revision to sleeve. To answer the second part of your question: I think you are referring to folks that had VBG or RNY and now want to have a band which is purely restrictive?? I think its mostly because they want the smaller pouch back since the malabsorptive component probably isnt what needs to be changed in certain instances. There are folks who will answer that question more clearly but I beleive the primary reason would be to reduce pouch size to an already smaller stomach of the RNY.

Babs

catalina07