Ignor this message

(deactivated member)
on 5/24/13 7:48 pm

I had my band done 2009. The weight loss was great and I achieved my goal loss of 40 kg within 2 years. The only problem was that I lost muscle mass, became weak, and could not eat any hard stuff like meat. I also vomited a lot. The social consequence was my peer/friend dinners took advantage of me and paid me back when it came to sharing the dinner bill!

So, what is worse, body weakness (I was strong as bull previously) OR Diabetes 11 (controlled after the lap band).

I am not a stupid person, in fact I am a qualified PE qualified Teacher (past) whose only problem is a lack of willpower. I actually ignored my surgeon's advice when it came to combining his work with diet and exercise!

So, when the weight fell off and the diabetes was under control then I thought all was good until I could not climb stairs because my legs were weak, could not run as I could, get myself out of the car as could etc all because I ignored Diet & Exercise.

So, you are all saying what a stupid person I am as the surgeon would have told you about the importance of "diet & exercise" post Lap Band surgery!

Indeed he did BUT here is the issue:

IF I HAD CONTROL OVER DIET & EXCERCISE IN THE FIRST INSTANCE THEN I WOULD NOT HAVE NEEDED A LAP BAND!!!

THINK ABOUT IT!!!!!!!!!!!

Now, as for LB Erosion.

I am going into surgery to get the band removed next week.

I went to my Surgeon late last year 2012 and this is how it unfolded:

Oct 2012: I have a blockage. Barium Meal X-ray done: Fluid taken out. All is good

Nov 2012 to April 2013: 3 further visits to the surgeon as I have put on 20 Kg and seem to be able eat anything. More fluid but not result.

May 2013: Barium Meal which diagnosed Band Erosion

May 2013: Surgery booked to remove the band- 5 days in hospital.

WHAT DO I DO NEXT????????????????????????????