considering revision from band to bypass

(deactivated member)
on 11/16/08 11:15 am - NJ
Hi all...I am 1 year post op with the lap band and am down 57 lbs..I have had multiple problems with the band, nothing life threatening but the problems have really caused my success to be limited....I am discussing a revision to gastric bypass (which I probably should have had first considering the amount of weight I need to lose) but I am petrified. I have been researching the bypass surgery for about 4 months now and think I'm ready to move forward but I'm still fighting off the reservations and I think most of them are just from fear.....I was wondering if any of the people here that have had bypass would mind sharing some of the problems, if any, they faced with the bypass...I think the band is a wonderful tool so I"m not bashing it at all but I think the band and I just aren't the right combination for this journey.....
I appreciate any feed back I can get......
Thanks so much!!
Lorraine
sweetdreamsd
on 11/16/08 2:12 pm
I am feeling the same way. I am one year post op with the VBG and I have lost 62 lbs but I am not having any luck. I am wondering insurance wise will it be possible ot have the bypass.

PekinSal
on 11/16/08 9:18 pm - UK
I had the band out and something else instead (DS rather than the RNY) and can absolutely say it was worth it. I was terrified before the op - being revision is always trickier, I don't like pain, I can't stand hospitals and hate to feel dependent, but I would do it again in a heartbeat if I had to.